Use of High Glucosinolate Mustard as an Organic Biofumigant in Vegetable Crops Webinar

Date/Time
Date(s) – 04/11/2017
11:00 am – 12:00 pm

Website

Join eOrganic for a webinar on April 11, 2017 on using high glucosinolate mustard as an organic biofumigant in vegetable crops. This webinar will take place at 2 PM Eastern Times, 1 PM Central, 12 PM Mountain, 11 AM Pacific Time. It’s free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Brassica plants, including mustards, contain glucosinolates that, when broken down, produce compounds that can reduce weed pressure, insect pests, populations of parasitic nematodes, and soil-borne pathogens such as Pythium, Rhizoctonia, Sclerotinia, Verticillium, and Phytophthora. In this webinar, we’ll address the use of mustard cover crops that have been bred specifically to have high glucosinolate concentrations and act as a biofumigant in crops like potatoes, peppers, black beans, and strawberries. Learn more and register.